Connect with us


Schools now to reopen in Lagos January 18



The Lagos State Government has fixed January 18 for the resumption of schools for the second term 2020/2021 academic session.

Lagos State Commissioner for Education, Folasade Adefisayo, announced the new date in a statement on Monday.

The statement read, “The Lagos State Government has announced that all public and private schools below tertiary level in Lagos State should be reopened for the second term 2020/21 academic session from Monday 18th of January, 2021.

 “Honourable Commissioner for Education, Mrs Folasade Adefisayo, who revealed this today, stated that this is in line with the Federal Government’s directive coupled with the second wave of the COVID-19 Pandemic.

“She therefore enjoined all schools to make efforts to comply with all the outlined COVID-19 requirements for resumption schools.

“Not just for the improvement of overall school operations but for the safe reopening of academic activities to support the Lagos State Government’s quest for a full return.

“The commissioner advised that schools should have flexible plans where students and teachers who feel sick can teach or learn from home via available online platforms, adding that schools should also strive to avoid any COVID-19 infection among all students and staff.”

Adefisayo urged the teachers, students and visitors to wear face masks at all times; observe physical distancing as well as embrace regular hand washing with soap under running water.

She also stressed the need to maintain a high standard of personal hygiene within the school premises.

The state government had initially asked schools to reopen on January 4 but the resumption date was postponed.

This raised fears concerns that the government may impose a lockdown as a result of the second wave of coronavirus.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Buhari appoints Wushishi as NECO registrar



President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Professor Ibrahim Dantani Wushishi as Registrar/Chief Executive of the National Examination Council (NECO).
The council has been run by an acting registrar since the death of Prof Godswill Obioma, the former registrar.
Obioma died in Minna, Niger State capital, last month.
In a letter with reference No: FME/PSE/NECO/1078/C.1/36, the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, stated that the appointment of Wushishi is for an initial tenure of five years.
He said the appointment took effect on 12the July.
Wushishi was born on 5th April 1965 and hails from Wushishi Local Government Area of Niger State.

Continue Reading


17-year-old best JAMB candidate, 29 others get US scholarships



The 2019 Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) highest scorer, Ekene Ezeunala, has been offered scholarship to study Computer Science and Mathematics at the Columbia University in New York, United State.
He got the scholarship along with 29 other Nigerian brilliant students.
The 17-year-old, who graduated from Meiran Community Senior High School in Lagos, scored 347 out of 400.
Ezeunala was among the 30 Opportunity Funds Programme (OFP) scholars of the US Embassy, who have received fully-funded scholarships totaling $4.35million to pursue higher education in American universities and colleges for the 2021/2022 academic session.
The beneficiaries comprised six undergraduates, three masters and 21 doctoral candidates
Speaking Thursday in Lagos at a reception in honour of the scholars, US Consul General, Claire Pierangelo, urged them to make the most of their opportunity to get a top-notch education while gaining first-hand experience of American life and culture.
Responding, Ezeunala described the scholarship as a life-changing experience, which he said has opened up a new world of opportunities and resources he never knew were available to him.
Nigeria retained its top ranking as the number one source of African students studying in the United States, according to a report by US Institute of International Education.

It said 13,762 Nigerians are currently studying at more than 1,000 US colleges and universities.

Continue Reading


Buhari names former INEC boss, Jega, UniJos governing council chairman



President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Attahiru Jega, as chairman, Governing Council of the University of Jos.

Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu, disclosed this while addressing journalists in Abuja on Thursday.

He said Buhari also approved the appointment and reassignment of chancellors to 42 federal universities.

Two former ministers, Prof Anthony Anwuka and Udoma Udo Udoma, were also appointed chairmen of governing councils.

While Anwuka is to chair the council of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun, Delta State, Udoma will chair the council of Bayero University, Kano.

Both Udoma and Anwuka served as ministers in the first term of Buhari.

Other chairmen of councils are Prof Ahmed Mohammed Modibbo, University Of Abuja; Malam Adamu Fika, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria; Dr Sonny Kuku, University Of Benin; Chief Ikechi Emenike, University Of Nigeria; Nsukka and Ballama Manu, University Of Maiduguri.

Adamu said the President approved the re-constitution of governing councils of 23 federal universities and Inter-University Centres (IUCs) following the expiration of their tenures since 8th May, 2021.

The minister said the chancellors would be presented to the university community at an investiture ceremony to be organised during the next convocation ceremony.

“The chancellor shall in relation to the university take precedence before all other members of the university, and when he is present shall preside at all the meetings of convocation held for conferring degrees,” he said.

The appointed chancellors are Prof James Ortese Iorzua Ayatse, the Tor Tiv (University of Benin), Oba Rufus Adeyemo Adejugbe Aladesanmi III, Ewi of Ado-Ekiti, (Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University), Bauchi; Obi Ofala Nnaemeka Alfred Achebe, Obi of Onitsha, (Ahmadu Bello University), Zaria and Oba Aremu Gbadebo, Alake of Egbaland, (Alex Ekwueme University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State).

Others are Oba Ewuare 11, Oba of Benin, (Bayero University, Kano); King W S Joshua Igbugburu X, Con, Ibenanawei of Bomo Kingdom, (Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State; Prof Joseph Chike Edozien, Asagba of Asaba, (Federal University Gashua, Yobe); and Alhaji (Dr.) Mohammadu Abali Ibn Mohammed Idris, Emir of Fika, (Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State).

King Dandeson Douglas Jaja Jeki, Amanyanabo of Opobo Kingdom, (Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina); Alhaji Abubakar Shehu Abubakar III, Emir of Gombe, (Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike) and Justice Sidi Bage Muhammad 1, Emir of Lafia, (Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa), among others.

Continue Reading