metro
Marwa shuns investigation on alleged mismanagement of N467m
The Chairman of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency, retired Generak Muhammad Buba Marwa, failed to appear at the investigative hearing on the alleged mismanagement of N467 million before the Senate.
The Director General of the NDLEA was expected to appear before the Senate Public Accounts Committee.
The committee, chaired by Senator Matthew Urhoghide, was to host Marwa on Wednesday, but he failed to honour the invitation.
The Committee’s investigation was on the 2016 Office of Auditor General Report, which raised 11 queries against the NDLEA.
It was gathered that the letter of the meeting was submitted to the NDLEA and received by the Agency.
The query reads: “The Agency over spent Capital expenditures in 2015 by N12,986,372.00 (Twelve million, nine hundred and eighty-six thousand, three hundred and seventy-two naira) on the renovation of Jigawa State Command and Osun State Command.
“This act contravened Financial Regulation 419 which states that ‘…officers controlling votes are solely liable for unauthorised expenditure in excess of the sum allocated.’”
The Chairman/Chief Executive was requested to justify this violation of the Financial Regulation or recover the sum of N12,986,372.00 and furnish recovery particulars for verification.
The query added: “The sum of N43,228,750.00 (Forty-three million, two hundred and twenty-eight thousand, seven hundred and fifty naira) was spent on renovation and purchase of 5 (five) operational vehicles in Nasarawa State Command in 2015.
“A scrutiny of the Appropriation Act revealed that the amounts spent were not appropriated for by the National Assembly. The Chairman/Chief Executive, having failed to produce the authority for this expenditure, should recover the sum of N43,228,750.00 and furnish relevant particulars for verification.
“A sum of N42,603,261.94 (Forty-two million, six hundred and three thousand, two hundred and sixty-one naira, ninety-four kobo) granted as cash advances three years ago, to 9 (nine) officers of the Agency, were not retired, contrary to Financial Regulations.
“The Chairman/Chief Executive should recover the sum of N42,603,261.94 from the officers involved and forward evidence of recovery for verification.
“The Agency spent a sum of N2,577,150.00 (Two million, five hundred and seventy-seven thousand, one hundred and fifty naira) on professional fees, renewal of licence fees and seminar fees for its staff in 2015.
“This is contrary to Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation Circular Ref. No HCSF/PSO/866/II/214 dated 1st March, 2009, which stopped payment of annual subscription of staff to professional bodies by Ministries, Departments and Agencies. The Chairman/Chief Executive should recover the amounts in question.
“The sum of N4,729,759.00 (Four million, seven hundred and twenty-nine thousand, seven hundred and fifty-nine naira) deducted as VAT and WHT from payments to contractors for services rendered to the Agency were not remitted to the relevant Tax Authority, contrary to Financial Regulation 234(i) which states that ‘it is mandatory for Accounting Officers to ensure full compliance with dual roles of making provision for the Value Added Tax and Withholding Tax (WHT) due on supply and services contract and actual remittance of same’ and 234(ii) which states that ‘…Remittance of WHT and VAT shall be made within 21 days of deduction.’ The Chairman/Chief Executive should remit the sum of N4,729,759.00 to the relevant Tax authority. Otherwise, the sanctions under Financial Regulation 3112(ii) should be invoked.
“The sum of N135,301,756.93 (One hundred and thirty-five million, three hundred and one thousand, seven hundred and fifty-six naira, ninety-three kobo) was spent by the Agency as against the sum of N103,216,923.00 (One hundred and three million, two hundred and sixteen thousand, nine hundred and twenty-three naira) appropriated.
“This resulted in excess expenditure of N32,084,833.93 (Thirty-two million, eighty-four thousand, eight hundred and thirty-three naira, ninety-three kobo) on Security Vote for the year 2016, contrary to the provision of Financial Regulation 313 which states that ‘No expenditure on any subhead of the Recurrent Estimates in excess of the provision in the Approved estimates or Supplementary Estimates may be authorised by any officer controlling a vote without approval of the National Assembly.’
“Financial Regulation 419 also states that ‘Officers controlling votes are solely liable for unauthorised expenditure in excess of the sum allocated.’ The Chairman/Chief Executive should justify the excess expenditure of N32,084,833.93.
“A sum of N169,336,264.36 (One hundred and sixty-nine million, three hundred and thirty-six thousand, two hundred and sixty-four naira, thirty-six kobo) was spent on Security Votes in 2015.
“Further examination of the Agency‟s Budget for that year, revealed that there was no appropriation for Security Vote by the National Assembly. The Chairman/Chief Executive should produce the authority for this expenditure or recover the sum of N169,336,264.36 and forward relevant details for verification
“Contract for the supply of 7 (seven) operational vehicles for a sum of N90,772,500.00 (Ninety million, seven hundred and seventy-two thousand, five hundred naira) was awarded without approval from the Ministerial Tender‟s Board.
“This contravened Section 16(2) of the Procurement Act of 2007 which states that ‘No fund shall be disbursed from Treasury or Federation Account or bank account of the procuring entity for any procurement falling above the set thresholds unless the cheques, or other form of request for payments is accompanied by „No objection Certificate’ to an award of contract duly signed by the Bureau. Financial Regulation 2906 also requires the Agency not to award contract above its threshold. The Chairman/Chief Executive was requested to void the contract, in compliance with Section 16(4) of the Public Procurement Act, 2007, which states that “any procurement purported to be awarded without a Certificate of „No-Objection‟ duly signed by the Bureau shall be null and void” and recover the amounts already paid to the contractor.
“A cash advance of N2,350,000.00 (Two million, three hundred and fifty thousand naira) was paid to a staff for provision of furniture for the Guest House, while another sum of N700,000.00 (Seven hundred thousand naira) was paid to a contractor for production of 5,000 file jackets. These items were not taken on stores charge, contrary to Financial Regulation 2402 which states that on all payment vouchers for the purchase of stores, the Store Keeper must certify that the stores have been received and taken on charge in the Store Ledger quoting the store receipt voucher number and attaching the original copy of the Store Receipt Voucher to the original LPO”. The Chairman/Chief Executive should produce evidence of receipt of the items into the store, or recover the amounts in question.
“Cash advances amounting to N8,629,600.00 (Eight million, six hundred and This twenty-nine thousand, six hundred naira) were granted to staff for various procurements. was contrary to Treasury Circular TRY A2&B/2009/OAGF/CAD/026/V dated 24th March, 2009, which stipulates that “All Accounting Officers and officers controlling expenditures are to ensure that all local procurement of stores and services costing above N200,000.00 shall be made only by No. award of contracts”. The Chairman/Chief Executive should recover the sum of N8,629,600.00, as this cannot be regarded as a legitimate charge against public funds.
“The Director-General used green ink in giving approval for payments. This contravened Financial Regulation 3002 which restricts use of green ink to staff of the Auditor-General for the Federation.
“The Chairman/Chief Executive should henceforth restrain the Director-General from this practice. All the issues raised were brought to the attention of the Chairman/Chief Executive, but no response was received from the Agency.”
The Eagle Online
![]()
metro
Three Young Herders Killed, Two Missing in Plateau Attack
Three Young Herders Killed, Two Missing in Plateau Attack
Three young herders have been killed and two others reported missing after suspected gunmen attacked a group tending cattle in the Aloghom area of Mangu Local Government Area, Plateau State.
The attack occurred on Saturday, September 12, 2026, in the Sabon Gari district of Mangu, an area that has experienced repeated incidents of violence involving farming and herding communities.
The victims were identified as Garzali Shaibu, 18; Bashiru Yakubu, 14; and Salim Abubakar, 15.
According to reports citing a military situation report, troops of Operation Enduring Peace were alerted after receiving information that herders grazing in the area had come under attack. Soldiers deployed from Sabon Gari subsequently moved to the location and recovered the bodies of the three victims.
Surviving members of the group reportedly told the troops that two other herders were unaccounted for, prompting efforts to establish their whereabouts.
The attack also resulted in significant losses of livestock. A situation report cited by security-focused publication Zagazola Makama put the number of cattle killed at 36, while 12 others were reportedly found with gunshot wounds. Community sources, however, estimated that about 50 cattle were killed in the attack.
The differing figures could not immediately be reconciled, but reports agree that the incident caused substantial losses of livestock belonging to the affected herding community.
Hashimu Yahaya, coordinator of the Fulbe Fulani Development Association in Mangu, identified the three victims and condemned the killings.
The Plateau State chairman of the Miyetti Allah Cattle Breeders Association of Nigeria (MACBAN), Ibrahim Yusuf Babayo, also condemned the attack and called for an investigation into the killings.
READ ALSO:
- JAMB Allows Candidates to Change Lost SIM, Email Addresses
- How Nigerians Can Get Federal High Court Affidavit Online Without Visiting Court
- Plateau Violence: Several Killed as Fresh Attacks Trigger Mass Exodus
Community representatives alleged that the attackers were members of a militia suspected to be operating in the area. That allegation has not been independently established, and the identities of the attackers and their motive remained under investigation.
There were also allegations that security personnel from another agency were present around the area during the incident but failed to intervene. The claim was reported as an allegation and had not been independently verified.
Security personnel reportedly recovered empty tear-gas canisters from the scene as troops intensified patrols and other operations in the area.
The military also warned against any attempt by members of the affected community to retaliate, amid concerns that the killings could trigger further violence between communities.
The latest incident came amid a fresh series of attacks in Plateau State, particularly in Mangu and neighbouring areas.
The state government subsequently condemned fresh attacks recorded in Mangu and a separate attack at Dungus Junction in Jos South Local Government Area, while urging residents to reject reprisals and cooperate with security agencies.
The violence has also occurred against the backdrop of efforts by security agencies and community stakeholders to mediate disputes between farmers and herders.
In Bokkos Local Government Area, for instance, troops of Operation Enduring Peace recently facilitated a settlement between farmers and herders after farms in Dambwash, Danbukor and Fokko were reportedly destroyed. Under the agreement, affected herders paid N4.5 million in compensation to 38 farmers, according to reports citing the military situation report.
Despite such interventions, recurring attacks continue to raise concerns over the security of farming and herding communities in Plateau.
The three slain herders were later buried in Mangu following funeral prayers at the Mangu Central Mosque, with community leaders using the occasion to appeal for calm and government action. Security personnel present at the burial reportedly urged residents to allow investigations into the killings to continue and avoid retaliatory attacks.
The killings have renewed concerns about the vulnerability of young people involved in livestock production and the wider impact of prolonged insecurity on livelihoods in Plateau.
For residents of Mangu and surrounding communities, the immediate concern remains preventing the incident from triggering another cycle of reprisal violence, while security agencies face pressure to identify those responsible, establish the fate of the two missing herders and strengthen protection for communities at risk.
Authorities have not publicly established the identities of the perpetrators, and investigations into the circumstances surrounding the attack remain ongoing.
Three Young Herders Killed, Two Missing in Plateau Attack
![]()
metro
EFCC Opens Mambilla Probe as Atiku, Malami, Others Named in ICC Arbitration Award
EFCC Opens Mambilla Probe as Atiku, Malami, Others Named in ICC Arbitration Award
The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has reportedly constituted a special investigative team to examine alleged questionable transactions and dealings connected to the long-running Mambilla Hydroelectric Power Project, following a major International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) arbitration ruling involving Nigeria and Sunrise Power and Transmission Company Limited.
The development comes days after an ICC tribunal ruled in favour of the Federal Government of Nigeria, rejecting claims brought by Sunrise Power and its promoter, Leno Adesanya, over the controversial power project.
The reported EFCC investigation is expected to examine transactions and allegations arising from the 616-page arbitration award.
Among the individuals named or discussed in the tribunal proceedings are former Vice-President Atiku Abubakar, his former wife Jennifer Douglas Abubakar, former Attorney-General of the Federation Abubakar Malami, former Minister of Power and Steel Olu Agunloye, former National Security Adviser Sambo Dasuki, his son Abubakar Dasuki, former Solicitor-General of the Federation Abdullahi Yola, and former Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Power Dere Awosika.
The appearance of a person’s name in the arbitration award does not, however, establish criminal liability. The reported EFCC investigation is a separate process through which allegations and financial transactions may be examined under Nigerian law.
The ICC tribunal rejected Sunrise Power’s claims against Nigeria, including a demand linked to an earlier settlement agreement. The tribunal also ordered Sunrise and Adesanya to reimburse Nigeria about $11.8 million in legal fees and expenses.
The arbitration was connected to the disputed Mambilla Power Project in Taraba State, which has been the subject of legal and contractual disagreements for more than two decades.
One of the transactions examined by the tribunal was a $500,000 payment made by Adesanya in January 2003 from an account associated with his offshore company, China Castle Investments Ltd, to a United States bank account belonging to Jennifer Douglas Abubakar.
READ ALSO:
- Jetour T1 Storms Abuja as Automaker Accelerates Nigeria Expansion
- Kidnapped Female Police Officer Found Dead in Ebonyi as Suspect Leads Police to Remains
- CNN, MS NOW, Politico Sue Trump Over White House Access Ban
According to the tribunal findings, Adesanya said the payment was connected to a foreign-exchange transaction undertaken for Atiku through his bureau de change business.
The tribunal, however, said the explanation was not supported by sufficient documentary evidence. It noted that records establishing the underlying naira payment, exchange rate, instructions or other documentation corroborating the explanation were not produced.
The tribunal described the circumstances surrounding the transaction as raising significant questions, particularly because of its timing and Adesanya’s efforts to secure the Mambilla contract.
The tribunal also considered other payments involving individuals connected to the project, including payments allegedly made to former minister Olu Agunloye through an aide and a payment of about $1.74 million made to Abubakar Dasuki.
In relation to Atiku, the tribunal’s findings require particular distinction. While it examined the $500,000 payment and the circumstances surrounding it, the tribunal did not find evidence that Atiku used his position as a government official to secure the Mambilla contract for Sunrise.
That finding is significant because the EFCC‘s reported investigation should not be presented as an established finding of criminal wrongdoing against Atiku or any other individual named in the award.
The arbitration also contained critical findings concerning former Attorney-General Abubakar Malami.
The tribunal criticised Malami’s handling of settlement negotiations with Sunrise and, according to the award, raised serious concerns about his dealings with Adesanya.
The tribunal also concluded that the settlement arrangements at the centre of the dispute were not binding on Nigeria because the required presidential approval had not been obtained.
The findings concerning Malami are part of an arbitration award rather than a criminal conviction. Any criminal consequences would depend on further investigation and, where applicable, prosecution and adjudication by the appropriate Nigerian courts.
The Mambilla Power Project dates back to a 2003 arrangement for the development of a major hydropower facility in Taraba State. The project subsequently became embroiled in disputes over the validity of the contract, settlement agreements and compensation claims.
Sunrise Power later pursued arbitration proceedings against Nigeria, including claims running into hundreds of millions of dollars.
The latest ICC decision rejected the claims before the tribunal and was welcomed by the Federal Government as a major development in the prolonged dispute.
President Bola Ahmed Tinubu welcomed the ruling and said it removed a significant legal obstacle surrounding the project.
Sunrise Power promoter Leno Adesanya, however, said the company’s legal team would review the arbitration decision and consider available lawful options.
The reported EFCC investigation now introduces a separate domestic dimension to the Mambilla controversy.
Investigators are expected to examine the financial transactions, relationships and official decisions highlighted during the arbitration proceedings and determine whether any of the conduct amounts to offences under Nigerian law.
The EFCC has not publicly announced criminal charges against Atiku, Malami or the other individuals whose names appeared in the tribunal proceedings based on the reports surrounding the latest development.
Consequently, being named in the ICC Mambilla arbitration award should not be interpreted as equivalent to being charged with or convicted of a crime.
The latest development nevertheless places the Mambilla Power Project, the disputed financial transactions and the conduct of several former public officials under renewed scrutiny as the reported EFCC investigation progresses.
The focus will now be on what the domestic investigation establishes independently of the ICC proceedings, while the Federal Government continues efforts to advance the long-delayed hydropower project.
EFCC Opens Mambilla Probe as Atiku, Malami, Others Named in ICC Arbitration Award
![]()
metro
Kidnapped Female Police Officer Found Dead in Ebonyi as Suspect Leads Police to Remains
Kidnapped Female Police Officer Found Dead in Ebonyi as Suspect Leads Police to Remains
A female police officer kidnapped in Ebonyi State has been found dead after police arrested a principal suspect in connection with her abduction and recovered her remains from a location allegedly identified by the suspect.
The development was disclosed by the Nigeria Police Force in its latest nationwide operational update, which highlighted arrests, rescue operations and the recovery of weapons and other exhibits across several states.
According to the police, the suspect was arrested following sustained intelligence-driven and technology-based investigations into the abduction of the female officer.
The suspect allegedly led police operatives to the location where the remains of the kidnapped police officer were recovered.
The Force did not, however, disclose the identity of the officer, the circumstances surrounding her abduction or the cause of her death.
It also did not state how long the officer had been missing before her remains were recovered or whether additional suspects had been arrested in connection with the case.
The development represents a major breakthrough in the investigation into the officer’s disappearance, but police said the case remains under investigation.
The suspect is being treated as an alleged member of a kidnapping syndicate pending the conclusion of investigations and any subsequent court proceedings.
Police said the investigation was supported by intelligence gathering and technology, which eventually led operatives to the principal suspect.
Following the arrest, the suspect allegedly provided information that enabled investigators to locate the scene where the officer’s remains were recovered.
The circumstances surrounding the officer’s death are yet to be publicly established. Police have not disclosed whether the remains showed evidence of violence or whether a forensic examination has been conducted to determine the cause of death.
Investigators are expected to examine the recovered remains and other evidence as they work to establish what happened to the officer and determine whether other individuals were involved in her abduction and death.
READ ALSO:
- CNN, MS NOW, Politico Sue Trump Over White House Access Ban
- JAMB Allows Candidates to Change Lost SIM, Email Addresses
- How Nigerians Can Get Federal High Court Affidavit Online Without Visiting Court
The Ebonyi case was included in a wider Nigeria Police Force operational report covering security operations across the country. The Force said its operations resulted in the arrest of 334 suspects and the rescue of kidnapped victims, alongside the recovery of firearms, ammunition and other exhibits in different states.
In another operation reported in Adamawa State, police said two kidnapped victims were rescued from a suspected kidnappers’ hideout in Shako Forest, Toungo Local Government Area, while a suspect was arrested and allegedly provided information implicating five fleeing accomplices. (Primetimes)
The police said the various cases remain under investigation by the relevant State Criminal Investigation Departments (CID) and the CID at Force Headquarters in Abuja.
For the Ebonyi investigation, the immediate focus is expected to be on determining the circumstances of the officer’s abduction, identifying all those allegedly involved and establishing how and when she died.
The recovery also gives investigators an opportunity to gather further physical and forensic evidence that could help link suspects to the crime.
The police have not announced any further arrests in the case or disclosed whether any weapons, vehicles, communication devices or other exhibits were recovered during the operation.
The Force has increasingly emphasised intelligence-led policing, technology-assisted investigations and inter-agency cooperation in its response to kidnapping and other organised crimes.
The latest development in Ebonyi underscores the continuing security challenges faced by police personnel and other residents in areas affected by kidnapping and violent criminal activity.
While the arrest represents progress in the investigation, the police have yet to provide a full account of the circumstances leading to the officer’s death.
Further details are expected as investigators continue questioning the suspect and examining evidence recovered from the scene.
Until the investigation and any court proceedings are concluded, the suspect remains presumed innocent and allegations against him have not been established by a court.
Kidnapped Female Police Officer Found Dead in Ebonyi as Suspect Leads Police to Remains
![]()
-
metro2 days agoOyo Police: Student Who Died by Suicide Was Charged With Assault, Not ₦8,000 Debt
-
Entertainment3 days ago“She Wanted to Stay Single”: Rema Opens Up About Rejection That Inspired Hit Song ‘Oh No’
-
metro3 days agoNiger Miners’ Deaths: Families Demand Compensation, Justice for Victims
-
metro3 days agoMambilla: ICC Raises Questions Over $500,000 Payment to Atiku’s Former Wife
-
International16 hours ago18 Suspects Transferred to US Over 2021 Killing of Haitian President Moïse
-
Auto2 days agoAbuja Demand Rises as Jetour Brings X70 Plus Experience to FCT
-
Sports2 days agoEnough Is Enough: Muslim Supporters Demand Change of New Man United Owners
-
Politics2 days ago2027: NDC Predicts Wider Obi Victory Over Tinubu in Lagos
