Osun Govt Sues EFCC, First Bank for ₦2 Billion Over Unlawful Account Freeze - Newstrends
Connect with us

metro

Osun Govt Sues EFCC, First Bank for ₦2 Billion Over Unlawful Account Freeze

Published

on

Tinubu’s order: EFCC lifts freeze on Osun government accounts

Osun Govt Sues EFCC, First Bank for ₦2 Billion Over Unlawful Account Freeze

The Osun State Government has initiated legal proceedings against the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) and First Bank Nigeria Limited, demanding ₦2 billion in exemplary and aggravated damages over what it describes as the unlawful freezing of its statutory allocation account. The suit, filed at the Federal High Court in Abuja, challenges the anti-graft agency’s authority to place a Post-No-Debit restriction on the state’s account without first obtaining a court order. Governor Ademola Adeleke, the state’s Attorney-General, and the Accountant-General are listed as plaintiffs in the suit, marked FHC/ABJ/CS/1762/2026. The defendants are the EFCC, its Executive Chairman, and First Bank of Nigeria Limited. A legal team led by Prof. M. T. Adekilekun (SAN) is representing the state government.

The dispute centres on a letter dated August 5, 2026, signed by Assistant Commander Adenike Babalola on behalf of the EFCC’s Director of Investigation, which directed First Bank to place restrictions on Osun’s Federal Statutory Allocation Account (No. 2017170947). The state government argues that this directive was issued without any court order authorising the freeze and that the EFCC acted outside its statutory powers.

The plaintiffs are asking the Federal High Court to determine whether the EFCC possesses lawful authority to freeze, restrict, or otherwise interfere with a state government’s statutory allocation account without regard to due process. They contend that the EFCC’s action constitutes an “egregious act of executive lawlessness, an unlawful resort to self-help, and a flagrant abuse of statutory powers.” According to court documents, the state government argues that the EFCC’s directive violates several provisions of the 1999 Constitution, including sections on federalism, fair hearing, property rights, and revenue allocation. The plaintiffs also rely on the EFCC Establishment Act, 2004, and the Money Laundering (Prevention and Prohibition) Act, 2022, maintaining that these laws require the EFCC to obtain a specific court order before freezing a state government account—something they say did not happen in this case. The state also questioned whether First Bank could lawfully restrict access to the account solely on the basis of an administrative letter from the EFCC. The plaintiffs argue that the bank should not have complied with the directive without being served with a valid court order and that it breached the duty of care owed to the state government by denying it access to the statutory account.

READ ALSO:

Beyond a declaration that the freeze was unlawful and unconstitutional, the Osun Government is seeking several reliefs from the court. These include an order setting aside and nullifying the EFCC’s directive, an order mandating First Bank to immediately unfreeze the account and restore unrestricted access, a perpetual injunction restraining the EFCC from interfering with state accounts without due process, and a similar injunction preventing First Bank from complying with future restriction requests lacking court orders. The state is also seeking N2 billion in exemplary and aggravated damages for what it termed as “unlawful interference with public funds,” plus litigation costs. The state government maintained that the restriction was capable of disrupting salary payments, government programmes, and other constitutional obligations owed to residents.

The EFCC has defended its decision, stating that it has been investigating Osun State since March 2026 over alleged fraudulent handling of approximately N11 billion in Ecology Funds, Intervention Funds, and FAAC allocations. The commission claimed it observed suspicious transfers from the account into various corporate entities since August 2, 2026, and that its preventive mandate required it to protect public funds from being looted. EFCC Director of Public Affairs, Wilson Uwujaren, insisted that the action was not politically motivated or connected to the forthcoming governorship election in the state, stating that the EFCC “has always pointed out that it is non-partisan and non-sectarian but always working in the overall interests of Nigerians.” He argued that the EFCC possessed statutory powers under Section 34 of the EFCC Act and Section 7(6) of the Money Laundering (Prevention and Prohibition) Act, 2022, to place a temporary restriction on accounts for up to 72 hours, after which a court order would be required. The EFCC spokesman stressed that the restriction was a targeted measure on one account and did not constitute a blanket freeze on all of Osun State’s finances. He maintained that the Adeleke administration still had access to other government accounts and could continue its operations.

The controversy escalated when President Bola Tinubu publicly distanced himself from the timing of the account freeze, which came just days before Osun’s August 15 governorship election. In a personally signed statement, the President said he felt “deeply embarrassed, not by the EFCC’s exercise of its mandate backed by a court order, but by the timing of the agency’s action.” He directed the EFCC to approach the court to vacate the freezing order and discontinue all proceedings instituted against the Osun State Government. President Tinubu emphasised that “Osun State is only a few days away from its gubernatorial election. Therefore, nothing ought to be done to give an impression that the EFCC or indeed any other agency of the federal government is being used to interfere with the election.” He reaffirmed his commitment to allowing anti-corruption agencies to operate independently but stressed that the timing of the action necessitated his intervention.

Senior lawyers, including Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SANs), have faulted the EFCC’s action, insisting that the anti-graft agency lacks the constitutional and legal authority to freeze a state’s accounts without first obtaining a court order. Constitutional lawyer Prof. Konyinsola Ajayi, SAN, said the law is clear that bank accounts can only be frozen pursuant to a valid court order. Human rights lawyer Prof. Chidi Anselm Odinkalu maintained that “EFCC needs a court order to do that. It cannot be done lawfully as an administrative act.” The Human Rights Writers Association of Nigeria (HURIWA) also condemned the EFCC’s action, warning that democracy could be undermined where institutions with coercive powers are perceived as acting in a politically selective manner.

In summary, the Osun State Government is challenging the EFCC’s authority to freeze its statutory allocation account without a court order, seeking N2 billion in damages. The EFCC maintains its action was lawful and part of an ongoing N11 billion investigation. President Tinubu has intervened, directing the EFCC to vacate the freeze due to concerns about the timing ahead of the governorship election. No hearing date has been fixed for the suit.

Osun Govt Sues EFCC, First Bank for ₦2 Billion Over Unlawful Account Freeze

Loading

metro

Three Young Herders Killed, Two Missing in Plateau Attack

Published

on

Three Young Herders Killed, Two Missing in Plateau Attack

Three Young Herders Killed, Two Missing in Plateau Attack

Three young herders have been killed and two others reported missing after suspected gunmen attacked a group tending cattle in the Aloghom area of Mangu Local Government Area, Plateau State.

The attack occurred on Saturday, September 12, 2026, in the Sabon Gari district of Mangu, an area that has experienced repeated incidents of violence involving farming and herding communities.

The victims were identified as Garzali Shaibu, 18; Bashiru Yakubu, 14; and Salim Abubakar, 15.

According to reports citing a military situation report, troops of Operation Enduring Peace were alerted after receiving information that herders grazing in the area had come under attack. Soldiers deployed from Sabon Gari subsequently moved to the location and recovered the bodies of the three victims.

Surviving members of the group reportedly told the troops that two other herders were unaccounted for, prompting efforts to establish their whereabouts.

The attack also resulted in significant losses of livestock. A situation report cited by security-focused publication Zagazola Makama put the number of cattle killed at 36, while 12 others were reportedly found with gunshot wounds. Community sources, however, estimated that about 50 cattle were killed in the attack.

The differing figures could not immediately be reconciled, but reports agree that the incident caused substantial losses of livestock belonging to the affected herding community.

Hashimu Yahaya, coordinator of the Fulbe Fulani Development Association in Mangu, identified the three victims and condemned the killings.

The Plateau State chairman of the Miyetti Allah Cattle Breeders Association of Nigeria (MACBAN), Ibrahim Yusuf Babayo, also condemned the attack and called for an investigation into the killings.

READ ALSO:

Community representatives alleged that the attackers were members of a militia suspected to be operating in the area. That allegation has not been independently established, and the identities of the attackers and their motive remained under investigation.

There were also allegations that security personnel from another agency were present around the area during the incident but failed to intervene. The claim was reported as an allegation and had not been independently verified.

Security personnel reportedly recovered empty tear-gas canisters from the scene as troops intensified patrols and other operations in the area.

The military also warned against any attempt by members of the affected community to retaliate, amid concerns that the killings could trigger further violence between communities.

The latest incident came amid a fresh series of attacks in Plateau State, particularly in Mangu and neighbouring areas.

The state government subsequently condemned fresh attacks recorded in Mangu and a separate attack at Dungus Junction in Jos South Local Government Area, while urging residents to reject reprisals and cooperate with security agencies.

The violence has also occurred against the backdrop of efforts by security agencies and community stakeholders to mediate disputes between farmers and herders.

In Bokkos Local Government Area, for instance, troops of Operation Enduring Peace recently facilitated a settlement between farmers and herders after farms in Dambwash, Danbukor and Fokko were reportedly destroyed. Under the agreement, affected herders paid N4.5 million in compensation to 38 farmers, according to reports citing the military situation report.

Despite such interventions, recurring attacks continue to raise concerns over the security of farming and herding communities in Plateau.

The three slain herders were later buried in Mangu following funeral prayers at the Mangu Central Mosque, with community leaders using the occasion to appeal for calm and government action. Security personnel present at the burial reportedly urged residents to allow investigations into the killings to continue and avoid retaliatory attacks.

The killings have renewed concerns about the vulnerability of young people involved in livestock production and the wider impact of prolonged insecurity on livelihoods in Plateau.

For residents of Mangu and surrounding communities, the immediate concern remains preventing the incident from triggering another cycle of reprisal violence, while security agencies face pressure to identify those responsible, establish the fate of the two missing herders and strengthen protection for communities at risk.

Authorities have not publicly established the identities of the perpetrators, and investigations into the circumstances surrounding the attack remain ongoing.

Three Young Herders Killed, Two Missing in Plateau Attack

Loading

Continue Reading

metro

EFCC Opens Mambilla Probe as Atiku, Malami, Others Named in ICC Arbitration Award

Published

on

EFCC Opens Mambilla Probe as Atiku, Malami, Others Named in ICC Arbitration AwardEFCC Opens Mambilla Probe as Atiku, Malami, Others Named in ICC Arbitration Award

EFCC Opens Mambilla Probe as Atiku, Malami, Others Named in ICC Arbitration Award

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has reportedly constituted a special investigative team to examine alleged questionable transactions and dealings connected to the long-running Mambilla Hydroelectric Power Project, following a major International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) arbitration ruling involving Nigeria and Sunrise Power and Transmission Company Limited.

The development comes days after an ICC tribunal ruled in favour of the Federal Government of Nigeria, rejecting claims brought by Sunrise Power and its promoter, Leno Adesanya, over the controversial power project.

The reported EFCC investigation is expected to examine transactions and allegations arising from the 616-page arbitration award.

Among the individuals named or discussed in the tribunal proceedings are former Vice-President Atiku Abubakar, his former wife Jennifer Douglas Abubakar, former Attorney-General of the Federation Abubakar Malami, former Minister of Power and Steel Olu Agunloye, former National Security Adviser Sambo Dasuki, his son Abubakar Dasuki, former Solicitor-General of the Federation Abdullahi Yola, and former Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Power Dere Awosika.

The appearance of a person’s name in the arbitration award does not, however, establish criminal liability. The reported EFCC investigation is a separate process through which allegations and financial transactions may be examined under Nigerian law.

The ICC tribunal rejected Sunrise Power’s claims against Nigeria, including a demand linked to an earlier settlement agreement. The tribunal also ordered Sunrise and Adesanya to reimburse Nigeria about $11.8 million in legal fees and expenses.

The arbitration was connected to the disputed Mambilla Power Project in Taraba State, which has been the subject of legal and contractual disagreements for more than two decades.

One of the transactions examined by the tribunal was a $500,000 payment made by Adesanya in January 2003 from an account associated with his offshore company, China Castle Investments Ltd, to a United States bank account belonging to Jennifer Douglas Abubakar.

READ ALSO:

According to the tribunal findings, Adesanya said the payment was connected to a foreign-exchange transaction undertaken for Atiku through his bureau de change business.

The tribunal, however, said the explanation was not supported by sufficient documentary evidence. It noted that records establishing the underlying naira payment, exchange rate, instructions or other documentation corroborating the explanation were not produced.

The tribunal described the circumstances surrounding the transaction as raising significant questions, particularly because of its timing and Adesanya’s efforts to secure the Mambilla contract.

The tribunal also considered other payments involving individuals connected to the project, including payments allegedly made to former minister Olu Agunloye through an aide and a payment of about $1.74 million made to Abubakar Dasuki.

In relation to Atiku, the tribunal’s findings require particular distinction. While it examined the $500,000 payment and the circumstances surrounding it, the tribunal did not find evidence that Atiku used his position as a government official to secure the Mambilla contract for Sunrise.

That finding is significant because the EFCC‘s reported investigation should not be presented as an established finding of criminal wrongdoing against Atiku or any other individual named in the award.

The arbitration also contained critical findings concerning former Attorney-General Abubakar Malami.

The tribunal criticised Malami’s handling of settlement negotiations with Sunrise and, according to the award, raised serious concerns about his dealings with Adesanya.

The tribunal also concluded that the settlement arrangements at the centre of the dispute were not binding on Nigeria because the required presidential approval had not been obtained.

The findings concerning Malami are part of an arbitration award rather than a criminal conviction. Any criminal consequences would depend on further investigation and, where applicable, prosecution and adjudication by the appropriate Nigerian courts.

The Mambilla Power Project dates back to a 2003 arrangement for the development of a major hydropower facility in Taraba State. The project subsequently became embroiled in disputes over the validity of the contract, settlement agreements and compensation claims.

Sunrise Power later pursued arbitration proceedings against Nigeria, including claims running into hundreds of millions of dollars.

The latest ICC decision rejected the claims before the tribunal and was welcomed by the Federal Government as a major development in the prolonged dispute.

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu welcomed the ruling and said it removed a significant legal obstacle surrounding the project.

Sunrise Power promoter Leno Adesanya, however, said the company’s legal team would review the arbitration decision and consider available lawful options.

The reported EFCC investigation now introduces a separate domestic dimension to the Mambilla controversy.

Investigators are expected to examine the financial transactions, relationships and official decisions highlighted during the arbitration proceedings and determine whether any of the conduct amounts to offences under Nigerian law.

The EFCC has not publicly announced criminal charges against Atiku, Malami or the other individuals whose names appeared in the tribunal proceedings based on the reports surrounding the latest development.

Consequently, being named in the ICC Mambilla arbitration award should not be interpreted as equivalent to being charged with or convicted of a crime.

The latest development nevertheless places the Mambilla Power Project, the disputed financial transactions and the conduct of several former public officials under renewed scrutiny as the reported EFCC investigation progresses.

The focus will now be on what the domestic investigation establishes independently of the ICC proceedings, while the Federal Government continues efforts to advance the long-delayed hydropower project.

EFCC Opens Mambilla Probe as Atiku, Malami, Others Named in ICC Arbitration Award

Loading

Continue Reading

metro

Kidnapped Female Police Officer Found Dead in Ebonyi as Suspect Leads Police to Remains

Published

on

Kidnapped Female Police Officer Found Dead in Ebonyi as Suspect Leads Police to Remains

Kidnapped Female Police Officer Found Dead in Ebonyi as Suspect Leads Police to Remains

A female police officer kidnapped in Ebonyi State has been found dead after police arrested a principal suspect in connection with her abduction and recovered her remains from a location allegedly identified by the suspect.

The development was disclosed by the Nigeria Police Force in its latest nationwide operational update, which highlighted arrests, rescue operations and the recovery of weapons and other exhibits across several states.

According to the police, the suspect was arrested following sustained intelligence-driven and technology-based investigations into the abduction of the female officer.

The suspect allegedly led police operatives to the location where the remains of the kidnapped police officer were recovered.

The Force did not, however, disclose the identity of the officer, the circumstances surrounding her abduction or the cause of her death.

It also did not state how long the officer had been missing before her remains were recovered or whether additional suspects had been arrested in connection with the case.

The development represents a major breakthrough in the investigation into the officer’s disappearance, but police said the case remains under investigation.

The suspect is being treated as an alleged member of a kidnapping syndicate pending the conclusion of investigations and any subsequent court proceedings.

Police said the investigation was supported by intelligence gathering and technology, which eventually led operatives to the principal suspect.

Following the arrest, the suspect allegedly provided information that enabled investigators to locate the scene where the officer’s remains were recovered.

The circumstances surrounding the officer’s death are yet to be publicly established. Police have not disclosed whether the remains showed evidence of violence or whether a forensic examination has been conducted to determine the cause of death.

Investigators are expected to examine the recovered remains and other evidence as they work to establish what happened to the officer and determine whether other individuals were involved in her abduction and death.

READ ALSO:

The Ebonyi case was included in a wider Nigeria Police Force operational report covering security operations across the country. The Force said its operations resulted in the arrest of 334 suspects and the rescue of kidnapped victims, alongside the recovery of firearms, ammunition and other exhibits in different states.

In another operation reported in Adamawa State, police said two kidnapped victims were rescued from a suspected kidnappers’ hideout in Shako Forest, Toungo Local Government Area, while a suspect was arrested and allegedly provided information implicating five fleeing accomplices. (Primetimes)

The police said the various cases remain under investigation by the relevant State Criminal Investigation Departments (CID) and the CID at Force Headquarters in Abuja.

For the Ebonyi investigation, the immediate focus is expected to be on determining the circumstances of the officer’s abduction, identifying all those allegedly involved and establishing how and when she died.

The recovery also gives investigators an opportunity to gather further physical and forensic evidence that could help link suspects to the crime.

The police have not announced any further arrests in the case or disclosed whether any weapons, vehicles, communication devices or other exhibits were recovered during the operation.

The Force has increasingly emphasised intelligence-led policing, technology-assisted investigations and inter-agency cooperation in its response to kidnapping and other organised crimes.

The latest development in Ebonyi underscores the continuing security challenges faced by police personnel and other residents in areas affected by kidnapping and violent criminal activity.

While the arrest represents progress in the investigation, the police have yet to provide a full account of the circumstances leading to the officer’s death.

Further details are expected as investigators continue questioning the suspect and examining evidence recovered from the scene.

Until the investigation and any court proceedings are concluded, the suspect remains presumed innocent and allegations against him have not been established by a court.

Kidnapped Female Police Officer Found Dead in Ebonyi as Suspect Leads Police to Remains

Loading

Continue Reading

Trending